Is America Ready for a Black President?


By BMIA.com Staff

I was sitting the lobby of my bank today with my son. We were waiting to see an officer about getting my son an account for college. CNN was on the screen with their wall-to-wall election coverage. There were two older black gentlemen seated across from me in the waiting area. One of the gentlemen turned to me and said, “They gon kill dat boy. Part of me wants him to make history and the other part of me don’t.” I replied, “Sir, you sound a lot like my grandmother.” The gentlemen replied, “They killed Martin Luther King, John and Robert Kennedy, those 4 little girls, Malcolm X and Medgar Evers. What makes you think they won’t kill Obama?” I just stared at him and said to him with confidence, “I hope they don’t.”

I’ve heard these fears that Barack Obama would be assassinated from mostly older black folks for about 8 months when it became clear that he had a real shot at winning the Democratic nomination to be President of the United States.

Here it is August 27th, 2008, on a day in Denver, Colorado, when Barack Obama, a 47-year-old first-term senator from Illinois, became the first African-American ever nominated for President by a major political party after delegates to the Democratic National Convention chose him as their leader.

The nomination process ended when Obama’s chief rival, Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton, (who hit the ball out of the park with her support speech the previous night), asked her supporters to join in accepting Obama’s historic nomination by acclamation.

As I watch the convention coverage there were tears streaming down the faces of men and women of all races and ages. Rep. John Lewis, a civil rights hero was crying as he recalled the struggles of the civil rights movement of the 1960’s.

Do you think America is ready for a black president?

Articles written by “BMIA.com Staff” are unsigned reports from a member of the staff.

One Response to “Is America Ready for a Black President?”

  1. Mr. Bromont Says:

    It is the last Saturday of August of 2008 and this weekend is starting off good because of what happened the last Thursday in August 2008 in Denver, Colorado. We are to remember the 45th anniversary of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s famous historical speech and the great speech given by the Democratic nominee for President of the United States of America Barack Obama. I was born in 1952 and for all of those older (and I mean way older) peace and blessings along with praise and worship to God belong to you especially. As we are here to see this historical moment as with the other historical moments let us go forward with the forward and positive thinking and mindset that can let us see some dreams come true. The question has been asked are we ready for a Black President? I will begin if I may be allowed here, to start on my point here with something from my collection here in my office. I have this on my wall here.

    On this day May 14, 1949 the following letter to the editor (excerpted) appeared in The Washington Post. It was written by Mary Church Terrell, an antidiscrimination activists and one of the founders of the NAACP:
    “I am urging The Post and others willing to advance our interest and deal justly with our group to stop using the word “Negro”. The word is a misnomer from every point of view. It does not represent a country or anything else… I was proud of the continent of Africa as part of my ancestral background. I am an African-American.”

    The point being here that long before two of the most historical speeches were made this lady had a mindset of pride and dignity about who she was. Barack Obama has shown us a proud time now in the year 2008. The son of a Kenyan father and a Kansas mother. For those who have the fear, worry or uncomfortableness of this about America having a Black President, I ask the question of not now, then when? Mary Church Terrell was doing her best back in 1949 to advance cause and thinking. When is America going to advance with cause and thinking? When is the African-American or black community of America going to advance in cause and thinking? My parents, grand-parents and ancestors have all past on now. They had a mindset that was different from me, that is why I can understand to an extent the thinking of those who have the worry and fear of harm coming to Barack Obama. History has taught us how there was a heavy price paid to see American society improve from backwards thinking of bias, bigoted and racist thinking. It is the year 2008 and America still has a long way to go to have what is civilization in this country. In spite of, I am one who is so proud of our brother Barack Obama and what he has accomplished and achieved.
    I want to tell all a story from days working as a service technician. I met a black gentleman on one of my service calls. His name was George. George was 80+ years when I met him sometime ago. George and I had good conversation while I was there for a service call to his house. We talked about the daily situation of being black in America and Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. One of the things George told me and I will never forget is that he felt if everyone black had contributed some kind of way to Dr. King he might not have lost his life. His meaning was that more protection for the man at that time, from the black community as well as contributions and marching with, could have possibly saved his life. I have remembered this comment especially from George. It makes me think that all of us in our own way and special way could and should think about how we can take care that nothing happens to our first African-American President. Thank you for allowing me to put my two cents worth in here. Peace and Blessings to all. GO OBAMA GO

Leave a Reply

