President Obama


oathofoffice1-20-09

Commentary by Gary A. Johnson

Change has come to America!  With a sea of humanity as his witness, Barack Hussein Obama took the oath of office becoming the 44th president of the United States of America on Tuesday afternoon, January 20th, 2009.

A federal security official told NBC News close to 2 million packed the Mall area, which would shatter the record for an inauguration, 1.2 million for Lyndon B. Johnson’s oath of office in 1965, the largest crowd the National Park Service has on record.

As former President George W. Bush departed the city via helicopter, you can hear many in the crowd chanting, “Na, Na, Na, Na.  Na, Na, Na.  Hey, hey, hey, goodbye.”

I was born and raised in Washington, DC and still live in the area.  This city is electric with hope and a new spirit of cooperation.  Have you ever seen anything like this in your lifetime?  I know I haven’t.  Barack Obama is the right man at the right time to lead this country.

In a “giving it to you straight” speech, President Obama told the world that the America that embraces differences and embodies hope and equality is back.  He reached out to every corner of this nation and the world.  It was more than inspiring.  It was indeed a historic moment in history and a brand new day.

We now have a black First Lady and from all appearances a wonderful and loving First Family in The White House.

obamapresportrait2

You can stay up-to-date and learn about President Barack Obama’s policies, the history of The White House and read entries on The White House blog by visiting our Barack Obama page.

What are your thoughts?

Gary Johnson is the Founder & Publisher of Black Men In America.com a popular online magazine on the Internet and the Black Men In America.com Blog. Gary is also the author of the new book “25 Things That Really Matter In Life.”

4 Responses to “President Obama”

  1. The Inauguration of Barack Obama filled my heart more for the sacrifices of my father than any such thing my life has had to endure. Composer John Williams created for the ocassion “Air and Simple Gifts”. During its playing I was asked what I was thinking and I simply said, Of My Father. I wrote a poem and set it to the music played at the inauguration. The words and video may be downloaded at http://www.obama.ebonyspectrum.com

  2. Mr. Bromont Says:

    Bravos with Kudos to Mr. W. Brown. A Happy New Year to all. I could not have said it better than what Mr. Johnson and Mr. Brown have said here. God bless our new president and his family. We are family now, so let us all get behind him and give him his chance.
    Peace and Blessings from Mr. Bromont

  3. Gary – Love your magazine and this post. It points out what many Americans new for far to long: race has nothing to do with your leadership but leadership can put you ahead in the race.
    So far, President Obama and his first “wiffy” Michelle have been poised, dignified, and on task. It gives me great pride to see them and makes me want to raise my level of play. I think they are good for the country because they do carry themselves so well—many countries judge our country by our leaders. In the past, that’s not been optimal.
    Anyway, he’s got a lot on his plate but I pledge to commit this year to some sort of community servitude and urge all other Americans to do the same.

  4. This man is so inspiring to me. I remember the night he interviewed on the Islamic tv station, I remember thinking, he really gets it.

Leave a Reply

